WA Government bans fracking during exploration and production of state’s onshore gas


The WA Government has announced on Tuesday its decision to ban fracking in existing and future petroleum titles in the South West, Peel and Perth metropolitan regions.

A moratorium has also been placed on fracking throughout the rest of mainland Western Australia.

“The State Government’s decision will prohibit companies from using fracking during exploration or production,” said Department of Mines, Industry Regulation and Safety (DMIRS) acting Executive Director Petroleum Dennis Wills.

A committee is being established which will conduct an independent scientific inquiry into fracking. This will be chaired by Environmental Protection Authority (EPA) chair Dr. Tom Hatton.

“The scientific inquiry will use credible scientific and historical evidence to assess each level of risk associated with fracking and outline regulatory mechanisms to identify and minimise potential risks to the environment, health, agriculture, heritage and the community,” said Mr. Wills.

He said WA has a comprehensive legislative framework regulating oil and gas exploration and production that will provide protection for workers, community, and the environment.

A map of the fracking exclusion areas and the Hydraulic Fracturing Policy Statement can be downloaded.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *